BBC Sound of 2014 longlist revealed

Published on 2nd December 2013

Fifteen rising music artists have been named on the longlist for the BBC Sound of 2014, which showcases some of the brightest new acts for the year ahead.

Californian trio Haim came out on top last year and have since gone on to chart a Number 1 album with their debut release 'Days Gone By'. Previous winners have been Adele, Ellie Goulding and Jessie J and 50 Cent back in 2003. This year's crop include some brilliant artists such as singers Sam Smith and Ella Eyre, who have both already featured on number one singles, and Barclaycard presents British Summer Time Hyde Park alumni George Ezra and Luke Sital-Singh.

The successful acts cannot already be well-known to the UK public, for example through featuring in the final stages of a TV talent show or having already been a member of a successful band.

They must also not have been the lead artist on a UK top 20 single or album before 4 November 2013 - but guest vocalists are eligible.

Full BBC Sound of 2014 list:

  • Banks
  • Chance The Rapper
  • Ella Eyre
  • George Ezra
  • FKA Twigs
  • Chloe Howl
  • Jungle
  • Kelela
  • MNEK
  • Nick Mulvey
  • Royal Blood
  • Sampha
  • Say Lou Lou
  • Luke Sital-Singh
  • Sam Smith


comments powered by Disqus